Tags

, , , , , , ,

This card was inspired by Tim Holtz’s 12 Tags of Christmas, Day 8 2010. This one was a real challenge because I literally didn’t have any of the supplies he used. I didn’t have any Christmas masks but I did have a spare piece of vinyl. I cut the sleigh from the Christmas Solutions (also called Christmas Noel) cartridge in vinyl. I then used the negative of the cut to mask the card while I inked the sleigh figure in red and stamped musical notes and snowflakes.

I very carefully pulled up the vinyl. I then put the positive of the cut, the sleigh itself, over the inked portion while I used the brayer technique to ink the background in three shades of green. Then I very carefully pulled up the vinyl. I’m not going to lie-it was a pain. It would be much easier with a mask designed for this purpose. But I still really love the effect.

I cut the houses from the Jolly Holidays cartridge. I used my Gypsy to hide the inside contours and to weld the houses together. I then added several rectangles from George and Basic Shapes to be the windows. I used small gauge wire to create the smoke plumes coming from the chimneys.

Details: Sleigh cut at 3 inches, houses cut at 1.5 inches, rectangles at .3 inches. Cardstock: Recollections. Inks: Studio G pigment inks. Stamps: Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous and Hero Arts.

Follow Me on Pinterest

