Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have been having my husband pick which Tim Holtz tag I will draw inspiration from next and he picked Day 9 from 2007. Again, I had none of the supplies so I had to get very creative. I don’t have a big Santa stamp so I used my Christmas Solutions cartridge to cut a Santa Claus. The Solutions carts are not full-featured and don’t have a lot of layers so I had to make eyes out Liquid Pearls and I used chalk on the cheeks, nose and mouth. I flocked the beard and the fluffy part of his cap.

I used an old map stamp on the bottom. I thought that went well with the “believe in Santa” theme since he travels the globe in one night. I cut “BELIEVE” from the A Child’s Year font and used the negative as a stencil. I applied a Zig glue pen all over the back of the paper and let it try, making it a temporary adhesive. Then, I placed the stencil where I wanted it and used a brayer to roll over it and make a tight seal. I inked the stencil with Distress ink and then pulled up the stencil. It made a nice clear impression but didn’t stay stuck to the paper. I was able to resuse the same cut for all the cards.

I did have a Tim Holtz stamp of trees just not the same one he used. I inked the background with two shades of red Distress ink and one shade of green.

Details: Santa cut at 3 inches, “BELIEVE” at 1 inch. Cardstock: Recollections and Bazzill. Distress Ink: Black Soot, Peeled Paint, Fired Brick and Barn Door. Liquid Pearls: Baby Blue. Stamps: Tim Holtz (trees), Tin Can Mail (map).

