Tags

, , , ,

Iron-MomDS Iron Mom

I created and pieced together this layout in about 45 minutes using my new Cricut Explore. I had to try out all the new features first. The Iron Man mask and the Avengers logo were both Jpegs that Design Space handled with no problems at all. The font is Iron Man of War. I also used a gold metallic pen to outline the letters. The Explore can write and cut in one pass.

With this first layout, I learned that in order to cut the Iron Man mask out of the background yellow square, I needed to weld the two images together. This is different from any other cutter software I have used before. If you didn’t weld the two items, instead of cutting the mask out of the square, it would cut the square and then separately cut the mask.  This is because the screen you design on in Design Space is not a cutting mat and you can’t think of it like a cutting mat. That is the biggest lesson I have had to learn in going back and forth between Design Space and any other cutter software.

I included a screen shot from Design Space to show you how cool it is to design in. Notice the Color Sync menu to the right. You can keep all the layers together and then the software will pull them apart for you onto separate mats by color.

Details: Cardstock: Recollections.

